Bathroom Graffiti Project

Archiving the World's Bathroom Graffiti

I'm a sophomore nonfiction writing major, and I'm looking to write a piece about bathroom graffiti and those who create it. The story will aim to highlight the artistic integrity and expressive liberation that bathroom graffiti offers. Below are a few questions that you can either feel free to respond to within this thread or by private message. Answer one, answer all, or simply respond to others' answers.

Finally, if you live New York City, and are willing to meet with me for a few hours from March 7-16 to discuss the topic in person, some compensation may be available for your help. You can remain anonymous if you'd like.

- How did you get started with bathroom graffiti? Was there a specific moment when you realized it was culturally or personally significant?
- If you're an artist, describe what you consider your best work.
- What do you think of the janitors who clean up graffiti in bathrooms? Is it censorship?
- What is it about public restrooms that seems to warrant some artistic embellishment? Does it even have anything to do with the intended purpose of restrooms?
- Distinguish between visual graffiti (drawings, etc.) and "poetry"-type graffiti? Is one more "artistic" than the other? What is the most eloquent/thought-provoking bathroom stall poetry that you can recall?
- Tell me a fun/scary/strange/depressing/happy story involving bathroom graffiti, if you have one.

Thanks guys. Your help is appreciated.

- Ben

Views: 122

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hey,
I know this is an old post but I'm doing a project on Bathroom Graffiti myself and was wondering if you could tell me how your's went.

derrick.